Want free professional help with your script?

I love helping writers to develop their scripts, be it a feature film or a television show, and I know I’m really lucky to do it for a living. I don’t apologise for charging for my services and I think my testimonials and CV speak for themselves. However, I often get  approached by writers who want me to give them feedback on their script for free. If I said ‘yes’ to everyone who asked I’d have a full-time job earning no money and I just don’t have that luxury. But I won’t pretend it’s easy to write those replies – I feel bad when someone asks for help and I can’t give it.

So, a few months ago I got to thinking about how I could help someone who can’t afford to pay for my services. That’s when I teamed up with the London Screenwriters’ Festival and we decided to offer my services for six months as a prize to one LSF 2013 delegate. I could of course just pull a name out of a hat but I want to offer my help to a writer who I feel has the most to gain from it. We’re asking writers to submit a ten-page writing sample and a one-page outline of the project they want to develop. Check out the London Screenwriters Festival Mentoring Competition page for information on the submission process and what’s on offer.

So, if you want professional help developing one script over multiple drafts plus several other projects to treatment and advice on your screenwriting career then get your entries in quick. Deadline is just one week away – Friday 19 April.  Good luck!

 

5 responses to “Want free professional help with your script?

  1. Hello there – I would very much like to submit my work for the screenwriting competition, I am just unclear if I need to buy a ticket for the festival to be able to do so?
    Best,
    Paul Fox

  2. Michelle Duffy

    Can I just check – is there a time by Friday it should be in? I want to spend a bit more time tomorrow just having one more look over, but don’t want to submit too late!

  3. Michelle Duffy

    Thanks Hayley – I have a writer friend who’s worked with you, who had nothing but good things to say, so I’m crossing my fingers (and toes) that you like the look of my entry 🙂

Leave a Reply

